Governance 2020-2026

PresidentProfessor Arie Reich
TreasurerProfessor Susan Block-Lieb
Board of DirectorsProfessor Orkun Akseli
Professor Yeşim M. Atamer
Professor Antony Duggan
Professor Toshiyuki Kono
Professor Hans-W. Micklitz
Professor Ruth Plato-Shinar
Professor Arcelia Quintano-Adriano
Professor Ingeborg Schwenzer
Professor Jay Westbrook


In 1983, a formal structure was given to the Academy at a Conference held in Mexico City. At this meeting, officers of the Academy were chosen for the next three years. Thereafter, it was recognized that two year terms were more desirable because they would coordinate with the two years between international conferences. Officers in the Academy were President, President-Elect and Secretary-Treasurer. Besides a Board of Directors is elected with not less than four or more than fifteen Directors of the Corporation, all of whom shall be members who are elected at each biennial meeting of the members.

While officers generally change every two years, the Secretary-Treasurer of the Academy has remained over the years. Professor Ron Cuming has given great stability to the Academy in this important role. We are deeply indebted to him for all his work. We also acknowledge Arcelia Quintana Adriano for her role as Executive Coordinator and the Vice President of the Advisory Board over the many years.

Previous Presidents of the Academy

Professor Orkun Akseli (2020-2022)
Professor Toshiyuki Kono (2018-2020)
Professor Yeşim M. Atamer (2016-2018)
Professor Arcelia Quintano-Adriano (2014-2016)
Professor Tony Duggan (2012-2014)
Professor Hans-W. Micklitz (2010-2012)
Professor Jay Westbrook (2008-2010)
Professor Jürgen Basedow (2006-2008)
Professor Ross Cranston (2004-2006)
Professor Louis Del Duca (2002-2004)
Professor Norbert Reich (2000-2002)
Professor Shalom Lerner (1998-2000)
Professor Mary Hiscock (1996-1998)
Professor Jacob Ziegel (1994-1996)
Professor Roy Goode (1992-1994)
Professor Ulrich Drobnig (1990-1992)
Professor Boris Kozolchyk (1988-1990)
Professor Hal Scott (1986-1988)
Professor Donald B. King (1983-1986)